Managing & Revising Posts in WordPress


Note: This post is from our WordPress Beginner Tutorials Series on YouTube. 

To manage and make changes to your Posts hover your cursor over Posts then click on All Posts. This brings us to the Posts management panel.  The “Screen Options” tab allows you to set the number of posts you want to show. You can view other information from your Posts like the Author, Categories, Tags, Comments and Date.

At the top of the page you have a running total of Posts along with how many are Published, Drafts or Pending. You can choose to view your posts by published dates or categories. Choose the options you want and then click Filter.  You can view your Posts in list format or in a more detail oriented view.

WordPress Purple Logo

If the number of posts on your website is more than the limit set in the screen options, the posts will be paginated automatically on each page.

To navigate through your posts there are arrows at the top of the page to get you from page to page. You can also use the search box to give you a more detailed search. Another option is to sort posts by title, date and comments.  

Hovering your cursor over the title will bring up the Edit, Quick Edit, Trash and View options. We have already went through the Edit option in a prior video. The Quick Edit allows you to edit the main parts of your post without having to view the entire post.  Those items are Title, Slug, and Date. There is even the option to set a password. You can add or remove tags, change categories, disable or allow pingbacks and comments. Plus, change the status of your post. Finally, you can make your post “Sticky” meaning it will always be on top.

If you want to edit things like the “Featured Image”, “Post Format” or any content, you will need to use the Edit option. As always when you go through making your changes, make sure to click the Update button.

Just check off the box next to the posts you want to edit.  From the Bulk Actions menu, select Edit, then click Apply. The meta data from all the selected posts can be changed at once. If you want to remove a Post from the Bulk Edit list, just click the X next to it.


The Bulk actions allows you to edit several posts all at the same time.

To quit the bulk editing mode, click the cancel button on the left. Then to save any of your settings you changed, make sure you click the “Update” button. You can also delete posts individually by using the trash link.  If you accidentally delete the wrong post just go into the trash and click the restore link. The “Restore” and “Delete Permanently” options can be found when hovering over the deleted post in the trash area.

You do not always have to visit the Post Management Interface to edit Posts. When viewing a full Post from the front end, you can edit your post by using the edit link just below the title.  Also from the “Edit Post” link on the Quick Access Toolbar.

The Revision Function will help you revert your posts back to a previous version. When publishing Posts and Pages that you have made revisions to, they will be saved. You are able to go back to previous versions for specific content. The Revisions Function is just like using the Ctrl + z shortcut to undo changes.

To view any revisions for a particular post, hover over posts on the left side panel, then select All Posts. From the list of posts click the title of the post you want. Once inside, you will see at the bottom of the editor a Revisions panel. Any revisions for that post will be listed there. You can also access  any revisions from the Publish Panel in the upper right hand side of the page.

If for some reason you are not seeing your revisions, just click on the “Screen Options” tab at the top of the page. Then check “off” “Revisions” from the list.

Computer with WordPress logo on the screen

For instance, if we select a post. Then, from the Publish Panel we click on the browse link next to revisions. Notice the number of revisions is listed. When viewing the revision it will be in HTML Markup giving you greater detail.  Any text highlighted in red is the original content. Text highlighted in green shows changes made to existing content or any new content that was added.

The Previous and Next buttons allow you to go through revisions of the content. You can also use the slider at the top of page to sift through the content as well.

To restore your post to an earlier revision, choose a revision you like then click the “Restore This Revision” button.  

From here, you will be taken back to the editor where you can see where your content has been restored. If you are happy with the revision make sure you click the update button to save your changes.

If you want to separately compare any two revisions check the “Compare any two revisions” box. By checking the box it enables additional information and options. The slider at the top now has two separate components that you can use to go through revisions. The information below the slider indicates which two revisions are being compared.  

Check out our WordPress Beginner Tutorials Series on YouTube!

Have a Great Day!

Drew & the WebStop.net Crew

Leave a Reply